Working the Vineyard?

Mg_5746

In the gospel this week, Jesus tells a story about a father with two sons. He asks them each to work in his vineyard. The first son says ‘no’, but then later goes and works. The second son says ‘yes’, but later changes his mind and doesn’t do the work. And as I read this, my question to myself is: Which one am I? I regret to think that maybe I am the 2nd.

 

I have been leading worship on Sunday Evenings for about three years now. During that time, there have been many changes. Most recently we’ve moved to the middle of Everett to meet every week at Trinity Lutheran College. We continue to sing songs, to read the bible together, to pray and to grow as a community. But I’m still wondering to myself: Are we working the vineyard? Are we tending the fields? Or are we just talking about it a lot. Jesus says, “If you love me, feed my sheep.” Maybe the work of the church needs to start there.

 

What does this mean? I don’t know. But I am hoping you might join me to help discuss it. I see a need for us to continue to connect with our community. I see a need for vitality and practicality in our ministry. I see the need for an organically grown community in the heart of this city, including all people. I see the needs of many people in Everett, growing deeper and more dire as days go by. Jesus has given the tools we need to feed his sheep, to work the vineyard. Perhaps we need to start taking this call seriously.

 

Starting this Sunday and throughout the month of October we will take the steps through discussion, scripture, song and prayer, to develop our mission. Maybe that mission will look very different than what we’ve been doing so far. But it is very important to me that we shape ourselves into the church we are called to be.

 

God’s Blessings,

-Sean

 

You are all invited to join the conversation

“Mapping our Mission: taking Jesus seriously”

Every Sunday Through October

Sunday Evening Worship @ Trinity Lutheran College

Leave a Reply

